May-Penn Award of Excellence

We invite you to nominate a Duke MBA alumnus/a for the May-Penn Award of Excellence.

This award was established in 2006 in honor of Owen May, ’83 and Derek Penn, ’84 for their longstanding commitment, leadership, and exemplary service to The Fuqua School of Business. The May-Penn Award of Excellence is the highest honor BLMBAO alumni can bestow upon a peer.

Through this award recognition, we will honor the alumnus/a who actively participates in annual events, is accessible to students, and is connected to the broader community through his/her interaction with the faculty and administration. The recipient of this award should be recognized as a leader within the Fuqua community as well as in his or her profession. The individual recognized with the May-Penn Award of Excellence is an inspiration to those around him/her and a role model to those coming after him/her.

Past Award Recipients include:

2017: Liz M. Riley

2016: Isela Bahena – Senior Director, Energy and Infrastructure Private Equity, TIAA Investments

2015: Anne Sempowski Ward – CEO, CURiO Brands

2014: Tonya Day Registre – Sr. Marketing Manager, Digital Marketing Strategy & Integration, American Express

2013: Mark Williams – Managing Director, Bank of America

2012: Eva De La Rosa – Client Manager, American Express

2011: Tyrone Thomas – Vice President, Citigroup

2010: Theresa Jones – Manager, Office of Employee Performance, Prince George’s County Public Schools

2009: Ken Burton – Senior Vice President, Bank of America

2008: Edward Magee – Vice President of Operations, Thomas & Betts Corporation

2007: Kelvin Baggett – Senior Advisor, Pharos Capital Group

2006: Owen May, CEO of May-Davis Partners and Derek Penn, Managing Director, Head of Equities at Pershing, LLC